January 1, 2014

Well, first official day. I’ve discovered something – I apparently already contemplate God in most activities.  It’s more of a bringing it forward to the front of my consciousness, rather than the back.

Morning prayer done – I need to check over the first reading, ’cause it didn’t make any sense and I’m trying to figure out if the computer messed up or there was a typo or something.  Takes about 25 minutes to do MP.  Personal prayers were a little different – rather than a litany of names, it was specific people for me and their needs.  Portions of the readings/prayers actually got to me differently, saying them on my own, and in private. 🙂  Apparently I put stress on different words when I’m *leading* MP, then I do when I’m saying it for myself.  Lit a candle to light Dave’s way.

There’s a lovely channel on the TV that plays Christian music – 6 songs is approximately 20 minutes of exercise.

So, interesting video by an Anglican priest.  (I did try putting it in here, but it didn’t want to add it.)  Have to go to work, so will discuss issues in here later, or may actually put it on the LJ blog, as I’m getting opinions from both an Episcopal and an Evangelical. 🙂

This afternoon will be filled with the assignment from Pastor Craig to read through Psalm 119 and make notes to either share or not.  Interestingly, from a Hebrew perspective, the Psalm is an acrostic when done in that language.  If done in English you don’t see it, but with the 176 verses divided into 22 sections of 8 each, each one beginning with a Hebrew letter, and each of the 8 verses starting with the letter of the section.  It’s an awesome mnemonic device for what used to be an oral tradition.  Anyway, that one’s going to take a while, so it’s good that I don’t have other studies for today, it being Wednesday and my reading partner being on vacation. 🙂  Okay, so the discussion on this is here.  It only took me 2 1/2 hours!  However, it is the perfect Psalm for my year, so I’ll set up a link to it in the links section to read/meditate on at least once a month.

Exercise, chores, etc. accomplished.  Need to put up a reminder at the sink, ’cause dishes were just dishes.  ‘course, I never contemplated it quite the way this author did.  Perhaps I’ll use that quote:  “A God that can be understood is no God. Who can explain the Infinite in words?”

Working until 11 this evening, then rosary, shower and bed.  Not a bad first day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

