January 4, 2014

It’s an interesting feeling to wake up and know that you’ve made a promise to God that you’ll be at the church, every morning by 7:30 (except Sundays, where it’s a little later). I have no idea if God actually expects me to be there, but that’s the way it feels as I realize that lazing in bed is not going to happen, ’cause I have things to do, cats to feed and real clothing to put on before I head out the door.

So today, I’ve added a different exercise video into my routine. This is going to be one of those – let’s see how long you can do it before dying type videos. πŸ™‚ Which tells me just how out of shape I am. Interestingly, however, the person leading the exercises focuses on the fact that you’re not doing this to lose weight – you’re doing it so that you can serve God’s people to the best of your ability, and that means being in good enough shape to do so. Like all good exercise sadists… er, instructors, she reminds you to breathe, but she says, don’t let your chin fall down to your chest – lift your eyes to the heavens and remind yourself why you’re doing this. It’s good reminders. πŸ™‚ And even only doing not quite half of the video, I can feel muscles I haven’t felt in a while asking me what in the world I think I’m doing! Well, reminding you that you exist for a reason – and that reason is not to sit like a bump on a log, but to actually be useful. πŸ™‚

In my many previous efforts at weight loss, I have an absolute abundance of a shake mix from Body by Vi. πŸ™‚ I really couldn’t stand the stuff, but it does work. However, I had always mixed it with milk. Since, however, I’d made apple juice over the summer, I used apple juice and added in frozen huckleberries (picked by friends and traded for blueberries ). I have found a wonderful combination, if I do say so myself! And now I can use the back supply of this stuff – it’s even healthy for me.

Leave a Reply

