January 14, 2014

I’m beginning to think that perhaps the warm weather in Montana may be my fault. As my exercise has been sporadic at best, God has warmed things up to the point where I cannot justify driving my truck to church, so today’s exercise was as a result of warm weather. Thank you God for encouraging me to have a fit vessel to do your will.

I had what I think will likely be my normal Tuesday morning company for morning prayer. 🙂 It’s nice to have someone else there – we actually got to have a discussion on the first reading, which came from Genesis 3, specifically, Verse 22: “And the Lord God said, Behold, the man is become as one of us, to know good and evil: and now, lest he put forth his hand, and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live for ever:”. Who’s God talking to? Is this the Trinity, speaking with the Word, not yet made flesh, and the Holy Spirit? As we know from the Gloria Patri, “as it was in the beginning, is now, and shall be forever.” Is this, as the commandments say, “Thou shalt have no other gods before Me,” but does not say you cannot have any after Him. He is referred to as the “King above all gods” in Psalm 95. If there were no others of divine nature, why does the Bible refer to them so often?

Obviously, I’m in a challenging sort of mood this morning. 🙂 We’ll see where the day takes us. In the meantime, I have a new thing that will allow me to have regular tangelo juice, rather than what I made in the blender, which is rather like an orange Julius.

Ah, the joys of chopping wood. 🙂 It’s actually good exercise, and I’ve got some fresh kindling for the fire (it’s a little chilly, finally).

So today, rather than working on garden planning or herbal medicine, I’m working on catching up some of the prayer shawls – we’re running a bit low on just plain old shawls, so I spent an hour crocheting – which is really rather nice, and fun. Prayer shawls are slightly different, in that you want to use a stitch you can count to 3 doing – as it’s easiest to keep the Trinity, or Allah-u-abha (God is all glorious), or Blessings Upon You. Any sort of prayer – you can, of course get longer things, but for when you get into a groove, it’s easiest to keep those running in your head as you crochet. I’m not sure what knitters do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

