January 27, 2014

It seems I am making it a habit to miss Sundays, so I’m just not going to worry about it any more. 🙂

I liked the sermon at HT yesterday, talking about fly fishing and religion. 🙂  It made us wonder if we could perhaps tie in vacations for Episcopal priests with one of the local fly fishing companies to get supply priests in once in a while. 🙂  But what was great was the concept that you applied the lessons in fishing – learning the habits of the fish, what they ate, where they hung out, etc. – to fishing for people.  Meet each person on their own ground and comfort zone to introduce them to Christ.  And then, of course, the catch and release method. 🙂

This was followed by the annual and vestry meetings, so I didn’t make it to DoH this week, unfortunately.  I’ll have to pick up a copy of the sermon next week.

James 1:5:  “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.

Tao:  “The wise man is one who, knows, what he does not know.

I’ve been praying for wisdom for dealing with one of my sons.  And I was reminded through a sarcastically meant comment that my son is a grown man, responsible for his own decisions and consequences, good and bad, and that if I’m not asked for advice, I need to not give it.  No matter how much I think the other person might benefit from what I might have to say.  Again, stillness, silence – there is value in those attributes that I apparently need to practice more. 🙂

Along with listening.

Leave a Reply

