February 5, 2014

Consistency is something I hold dear – it generally makes things make sense. And then we get Bible readings, and consistency is nowhere that I can find – except in the spirit of things. But the words – sometimes they drive me crazy.

Take the lessons from this morning’s MP. First was Genesis 22:1-18, where God has requested Abraham to make of his only son a burnt offering. Okay, I get the foreshadowing and all that. But, first, you have God doing the requesting.  Then, you have an angel of God telling him to stop.  No offense, but doesn’t one outrank the other?  Then you have the completely inconsistent statement by the angel (and yes, I’ve checked many translations of this, and almost all agree word for word):  Verse 12:  “He said, “Do not lay your hand on the boy or do anything to him; for now I know that you fear God, since you have not withheld your son, your only son, from me.”  (Emphasis obviously added by me.)  First part of the sentence implies the angel is separate from God; second part implies they are one and the same.  So, would this be a Christophany?  Except I’ve never seen Christ referred to as an angel, even in the Old Testament.  The second odd portion is that God has already promised that through Isaac, Abraham’s descendants would be as numerous as the stars or the grains of sand on the Earth.  Last I checked, God doesn’t go back on promises, so was this whole thing a method of testing not Abraham’s obedience, but rather Abraham’s trust in God?

So then there was the New Testament reading, from Hebrews 11:23-31.  Verse 26 says:  “He [Moses] considered abuse suffered for the Christ  to be greater wealth than the treasures of Egypt, for he was looking ahead to the reward.”  So, potentially, the use of Jesus’ title, rather than His name would make that make sense – that Moses considered abuse suffered for the promise of the Messiah to be greater than the treasures of Egypt.  Okay, so talked myself out of that one being inconsistent.  See?  This is why I write things out!

Morning prayer took place at my house this morning, rather than the church, as my truck doesn’t like to start at anything below 6 degrees – and I am hesitant to walk on icy roads.  I actually don’t think God cares, but it’s a lovely way to start each morning. 🙂

One thought on “February 5, 2014

Leave a Reply

