February 18, 2014

I’m out-of-order – I realize this, but I did finally remember what I wanted to mention on here from yesterday (half the time I write these blogs in my head throughout the day – forgetting that I haven’t actually put fingers to keyboard to get it out of that black hole).

Yesterday’s second reading came from 1 John 2:1-11.  What I loved about it was that it basically said in a nutshell that if you don’t walk your talk, you may as well not talk at all, because it’s not true.  (Obviously terribly paraphrased)  So, actual verses:

3 Now by this we may be sure that we know him, if we obey his commandments. 4 Whoever says, “I have come to know him,” but does not obey his commandments, is a liar, and in such a person the truth does not exist; 5 but whoever obeys his word, truly in this person the love of God has reached perfection. By this we may be sure that we are in him: 6 whoever says, “I abide in him,” ought to walk just as he walked.

This connects wonderfully with the concept of “good fruit”.

Is this journey of mine good fruit?  Or is it sewing seeds of confusion and chaos with others who are perfectly happy in their paths as they attempt to understand mine?  Should this journal be something private, rather than something where anyone can stumble upon it (it’s not actually hooked to search engines, so pretty much you have to know me to find it – although someone in England looked at it, so that has me confused).

I had a conversation with my son (the pastor) last night, and we discussed – well, a wide variety of religious topics, as is the norm for either of my children and me – but specifically, that if one holds anger or hatred against another, we are advised not to take communion until we have settled that in our hearts.  Both D and I have experienced such occasions.  We also talked about how certain liturgical churches will not allow you to take communion if certain events had occurred in your life (in my case, divorce and remarriage), and how if you go up to receive a blessing while others are receiving communion, you tend to get “attitude” from the priest, and if you stay in the pew, you tend to feel judged by others who are wondering what venal or mortal sin you must have committed.

In any case, the rest of the reading talks about your own attitude.  Likely what is needed is assistance from the priest or pastor is to remind people that hatred has no place at Christ’s table, and if someone is struggling with anything that keeps them from the table, as Biblically advised, we should pray that they find wisdom and the ability to work their way through whatever that is – it’s between them and God.  We really don’t need the specifics.  God has them.

It all always seems to come back to walking your talk.  Back to the new Pope, his advice here seems to be saying the same thing. 🙂  I think the Catholics have a good representative here on Earth at the moment. 🙂

One thought on “February 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

