February 19, 2014

Yesterday apparently got away from me – I will endeavor not to have that happen again. Fortunately, the cats are getting better, slowly but surely. Thank God for that. 🙂

Today’s gospel was John 10:1-18, but I’d like to focus on John 10:16.  Interestingly, pretty much all Christian scholars are in agreement that here, the “other flocks” referred to by Christ are the gentiles.

Baha’i scholars believe this to mean that the same spirit of Christ that has inhabited all of the Manifestations of God have created other flocks – for Baha’is Baha’u’llah (translated “Glory of God” – another title) was the second coming of Christ, here to unite all of the flocks together.    Time and history will, of course, determine if that is the case – the Faith is only 170 years old.

The interesting part to this piece of music is the collection of scriptures from every major religion about their “second coming” (sometimes 5th, sometimes 12th, etc., depends on the religion).

So then we look at the broader passage of Matthew 24, both Verse 5, which indicates:  “for many shall come in My name, saying, ‘I am Christ,’ and shall deceive many.” and Verse 29-31:  “Immediately after the tribulation of those days the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will fall from heaven, and the powers of the heavens will be shaken. Then will appear in heaven the sign of the Son of Man, and then all the tribes of the earth will mourn, and they will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of heaven with power and great glory. And he will send out his angels with a loud trumpet call, and they will gather his elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.”

So, here, interestingly, Christ differentiated between His name and His title – the title is what Baha’is focus on.  Baha’is also focus on the concept that He will return as a thief in the night – but reading those lines again, that seems to refer to the time of His coming, not the name.  His return tends to be described as one where He will appear in the clouds, seen by all at once, writing His new name on a pillar.  This would be from both Matthew and Revelation, so Christ, Himself said it.  The link above goes through the Biblical verses about why Baha’is believe Baha’u’llah to be the return of Christ.

Like many, the concept of Christ’s return is a topic of great speculation to me.  The Last Day was a fascinating (fictional, obviously) story of a modern return of a female as Christ.  The Second Son was likewise fascinating.  And no, these aren’t scriptural at all – just things I’ve read over the years, but they have made me think.

Baha’is would label me as still being a “Seeker” – one who seeks to find the truth.  I’ll probably always be a seeker.  I count on this to be true: “But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.” (1 Corinthians 2:10)

2 thoughts on “February 19, 2014

  1. Last three paragraphs: “Coming as a thief in the night,” no one knows when a thief is coming, or else you could be prepared and the thief would be captured.
    Next paragraph no comment, except you might want to read, “Left Behind.”
    Last paragraph, I suppose you could call me a seeker as well, however, I am limiting my seeking to only biblical scripture and proven biblical writings…my faith, is in Jesus Christ, the Trinity, God the Father and the Holy Spirit (who also reveals many things to us, if we just ask). Way back in the beginning of the Book, it states: Thou shall not have any other gods before me. Exodus 20: 3

  2. I’ve read (I think), the first 5 books in the Left Behind series (shortly after that, Richard died, and I never got back to the series). Fascinating set of books – I don’t actually agree with many of the conclusions, but the writing is first rate. 🙂

    My faith is also in God, both individually and within the Trinity. Never claimed otherwise. 🙂 What is interesting to me is that humans must, by necessity, attempt to understand things through our human minds, and Christ made it pretty clear that his thoughts are so far above our own that we have no hope of understanding, though he did try to dumb portions of it down for us, so to speak.

    I do like to think I follow the Commandments. As I’ve said before, God’s been pretty clear that no one is above Him. However, that would imply that there are others below him – still above us, but below or after him. Their existence is interesting, attempting to figure out where they belong in the grand scheme of things. Even in my son’s religion (Asatru), they have the All-Father – that unknowable Divine that governs all things, sees all things and is in all things. If that’s not a good description of God, I don’t know what is. Why does it have to be a different divinity? Is it possible that only the method of worship is different?

    Do I have answers for any of this? Absolutely not. But that’s what this year of focusing on the Divine, of being aware of how God works in my life is about. And I know that my journey is unique to me – I certainly would never want anyone to follow the same path I do – where’s the fun in that? I appreciate the input from people whose paths are different from my own, for they give me other things to consider that I might not othewise think about. God’s been pretty good about guiding me where He wants me to be – and when I listen, life has been pretty good, interesting, challenging and blessed. When I haven’t listened, He’s provided appropriate attitude adjustments. 🙂 Not fun, but necessary, I realize. Like any good parent, we don’t like having to discipline our children, but sometimes they need it. I’m obviously putting my own interpretation on how God might feel about His children, but it’s the only perspective I have. 🙂

    I love finding the commonalities among how people worship, because they all have the same desire – to please the Divine, to live representative to what they see as truth. Their walks may be different than mine, but in most instances, I find that they’re different paths leading to the same destination. And I could be absolutely wrong. I figure God will correct my course if so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

