February 26, 2014

It’s always interesting to me to read portions of the MP, and to see portions of the Bible that I interpret in a completely different way today than I may have the first or second or third time I saw it. 🙂  God keeps reminding me that while there are four (or five, depending on the rabbi) levels of how Jews look at the Old Testament, all of which hold their own very interesting concepts, there’s still things to learn in English as well, every time I read.

So, today, it was Proverbs:

16 There are six things that the LORD hates,
seven that are an abomination to him:
17 haughty eyes, a lying tongue,
and hands that shed innocent blood,
18 a heart that devises wicked plans,
feet that hurry to run to evil,
19 a lying witness who testifies falsely,
and one who sows discord in a family.

Several things came to mind when reading this – the first of which was, how do you know?  Are we attributing to God those things that humans find heinous, in order to give the morality a boost to the Divine level?  But then, it’s Solomon, who probably actually did talk with God, and has a fairly good idea. 🙂

Next was the concept of “hate the sin, not the sinner.”  Well, that works for everything except those two mentioned in Verse 19.  In that case, it’s not referring to the sin, but is referring to the sinner, at least by the way it’s worded.  It actually astounds me that this can be part of a religion that is split 30,000 to 40,000 different ways.  Did no one pay attention to the fact that God prefers unity?

This sermon actually does a good job with commentary on this particular passage.  And points out that we are also to “hate” (tough word for me – and one I rarely use) the same sins, but only as it applies to ourselves – it’s not an excuse to go pointing fingers about other people’s sins.  Plank/splinter – remember?

And for some reason this brings to mind the Catholic concept of the 7 deadly sins and 7 heavenly virtues (which have actually changed over time, depending on who the pope is <grin>).  It’s where the whole “cardinal sin” and “venal sin” come from.  I don’t know enough about them to actually comment intelligently as yet, but thought I’d put the links here so I know where to go when/if I do decide to learn more about them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s