Description of Life at Nashotah

     Nashotah House is completely awesome, and fortunately, everybody in the faculty and staff seem to have good senses of humor.  Chapel is held at least twice a day, sometimes three (if someone volunteered to do the Compline), and to hear 40 or more voices singing in harmony with a pipe organ played by an absolute master is heaven itself. 🙂  The services were said or sung per a schedule, and there are some really talented singers there studying Church Music.  I’ve got a copy of a Compline service that is chanted that I want to practice – I’m going to propose having a Compline service twice a week at 7pm.  No idea if there will be any interest, but it’s worth a try.  Once we sat in a seat, that’s where we were assigned for the duration – which put me among gorgeous tenors and basses, but also made me the only woman on my side of the church.
     The class I’m taking right now is Old Testament, taught by Matthew Lynch, who was a business major who went to Israel for a year’s exchange as an undergrad, and came out an Old Testament scholar going for his Ph.D. in Theological Studies.  He did his master’s level in Germany, and now he is a dean of studies at a seminary in England.  Despite all that, man, he’s young.  He’s got a 4-year-old.  He’s interesting and challenging.  His stated goal is that we learn to be concise; hence his 500-word assignments.  I now have a sign on my computer that says “ONE idea per paragraph.”
     I learned as much from the other students (there are 8 of us – 2 women) as I did from the professor – at least half of whom are from traditions that don’t allow the ordination of women. <grin>  There are topics that get avoided around campus.  Interestingly, we did become very familiar to one another very quickly, so it was nowhere near as uncomfortable as I had anticipated.  Of course, 6 hours a day in the same class will probably do that. 🙂
     Superficially, everything is beautiful – they’ve definitely got some construction issues that should be addressed, but given that they have a maximum of 60 students residential, I don’t see that happening anytime soon.  Water takes about 5 minutes to heat up, and I was told that hot water is not necessarily always guaranteed. <g>  There are chipmunks, squirrels and even ran into a bunch of baby frogs!
     Then there was the ride on the one-ton bell.  That was unique.
     So, at this point, we have a weekly post and reply to someone else’s post due, with our final paper (2000-2500 words) due at the end of this quarter.  As I have a truly unhealthy fascination with poetry (mine is unfortunately all rhyming couplets, but it is a method God has communicated with me before, so I continue), and have just discovered that Hebrew poetry is completely different than western poetry (which is important, because I have a project to rewrite Psalm 119 as an acrostic in English, only to discover that I’ve got to go back and re-edit because the important part is parallelism), I’m going to do mine on the book of Micah, which is entirely poetry.  I’ve got Jan Fokkelman’s book on Introduction to Hebrew Poetry on its way, and checked out far too many books from the library (next time, the bag needs to be able to roll…) on both poetry and Micah.
     Having posted my first post, and seen what two others in my class posted, either I’m right on the money, or I completely misunderstood the assignment.  I guess I’ll find out.  First paper ended up as an A (he assigned the draft due the first day, with discussions and then turning in the final by the last day), thank goodness.  As you can see – one idea per paragraph is pretty foreign to me. 🙂
Leave a Reply

